Hermonavanq is located 2km south-east from the current Hermon village, on the right bank of the Yeghegis river. The church is called Hermon in honour of the first monk’s name Ahermon. The church monastery is also known as Knevank. The basilica church, enclosures and other buildings have been preserved in the form of ruins from the complex. The church was built in 936 by Smbat, Prince of Syunik Province. The first St Grigor Lusavorich church of the complex was domed. Later the monastery complex was completed with new churches and buildings. St. Hakob, St. Stepanos, St. Sahak and other buildings were built here through the 13th century, but were completely destroyed in 16th century. In the 17th century, on the ruins of these earlier buildings, St. Grigor church was built with the same stones of the earlier churches. Hermon church was one of the famous cultural centers of medieval Armenia. The flourishing cultural period of Hermon church was in 14-15th centuries. In 1338, after Gladzor University stopped functioning, Tiratur monk, the pupil and the assistant of Esayi Ncheci, came to this region to start a new school. This new school became the center of the cultural life of Gladzor in Vayots Dzor and continued its functioning until the the end of 15th century. Gladzor University
Gladzor University functioned in Vayots Dzor between 1280-1340. It was established during the Princely Proshyan dynasty. The University with its character and basic subject matter completely aligned with European Universities of the time. In 14-15th century the schools of Hermon, Boloraberd, Herher, Yeghegis, Verin Noravanq, Tsaxatskar, and in 17th century also the school of Shatin Monastery and others functioned here. Hundreds of famous promoters of science and culture of that period taught and studied in these educational institutions, among them were Nerses Msheci, Esayi Ncheci, Stepanos Orbelyan, Tiratur Kilikeci, Hovhannes Erznkaci, Toros Taroneci, Hovhan Vorotneci, Grigor Tatevaci and many others. Besides educational institutions about 20 scriptoriums, or places for the transcription of religious texts, existed here. Unfortunately, only a fraction of these manuscripts survive to modern times. Samples are preserved in many museums of the world (British Museum of London, National Library of Paris, etc). Many copied and illustrated manuscripts done in these handwriting manuscript centers of Vayots Dzor are distinguished by their high artistic taste. The famous manuscript centers of that period were Gladzor University, Hermon Church, Yeghegis Monastery, Verin Noravanq Monastery, Arates Monastery, Noravanq, Ereran, Boloraberd, Shatinavanq and others, where many famous handwriting artisans worked like Tiratur Kilikeci, Esayi Ncheci, Momik, Toros Taronaci, Avag and others.